My highest self.

quote I love quotes. I have one board on Pinterest dedicated to some of my favorite quotes. I was going through that board tonight to find some inspiration for blogging and this quote is the one that stuck out to me the most. Being in my 20s, I often find myself surrounded by peers who are trying to find themselves, to become their highest selves. I think the most popular way people my age tend to do this is through travel. Going somewhere new, trying new things, learning about a new culture. While I think that is fantastic, I can’t afford to travel at this point. But I am so grateful for the traveling I was able to do as a child with my family, including my dad.

But like this quote says, I grew into my highest self through my deepest pain…the death of my dad. Perhaps that’s why unlike my peers, I don’t have that burning desire to go out and find myself or whatever it may be, because I already did that at the age of 14. While it has been almost 10 years since his death, my heart still hurts like it just happened yesterday. But my understanding and outlook on life altered greatly when my dad died. I felt myself mature almost overnight. I knew how fragile life was. I knew how quickly it could be taken away. I knew that there was no way I could take the people I cared for the most for granted. I realized how stupid some arguments are. How it’s not worth it to get mad over tiny matters. How little some of my problems now seemed in comparison. How important it is to follow your passion. How important it is to treat others the way you want to be treated. And so much more.

All of these revelations not made me grow up faster than I’d ever think I had to. I will never see the world the same way as I used to. And I am so thankful for that because now I see everything through much, much clearer and wiser eyes. I know who I am. My core values, beliefs, passions all remain the same. I stand firm in them, unwavering. I am my highest self.

Leave a Reply

