Obsessions.

Every now and then I’ll try a food and it will become a new favorite of mine. This doesn’t happen all that often because I’m a pretty picky eater. I stick to what I love…cheese, mangoes, popcorn, bacon. At least the mangoes are healthy, right? Anyways, about a month ago I tried white chicken chili. In all honesty, I don’t know how “new” it is, but I’ve been seeing it around a lot more in restaurants and on store shelves. Ever since I devoured a wonderful bowl of it from Byerly’s, I knew it was a favorite.

But then I kept thinking about it…obsession. So I had myself another bowl at Overflow Espresso Cafe. Even better! So creamy, so full of flavor, and a little kick at the end of each bite.

overflowlunch

So today I figured, why not try to make it myself?!? I used a recipe found on The Girl Who Ate Everything’s blog. Not only was it easy to make, but it’s also easy to modify. Here’s the recipe, as I made it. I didn’t make the full recipe, but still got a LOT of chili! Most importantly, it was delicious.

chili1

Ingredients
1/4 of an onion, chopped
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 can of reduced sodium chicken broth
1 can of Great Northern beans, drained and rinsed (use any white bean of your choosing!)
1 package Hormel Natural Choice oven roasted chicken (feel free to cook up your own chicken if you’d like)
1 (4 oz) can, diced green chiles, drained
3 Tbsp McCormick White Chicken Chili seasoning
1/2 cup sour cream
3/4-1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

Directions

  1. In a large pot, add olive oil and onions. Cook over medium heat until onions begin to become translucent. Add everything else to the pot, but NOT the sour cream or cheese.
  2. Cook on low-medium heat for 30 minutes and be sure to stir frequently. Then add in sour cream and cheese. Be sure all of the cheese is melted.
  3. If you feel like your chili is not thick enough, mix 1 Tbsp of cornstarch with a little bit of water, then add to pot. Bring the heat up to a boil. This should help it thicken!
  4. ENJOY! I added some asiago ciabatta croutons of the top of my chili just for an extra crunch. Mmm.

chili2

Leave a Reply

