Custard Adventures.

Unlike a lot of people, I’m not a big chocolate lover. There’s no indulging in tons of Cadbury eggs for me on Easter, but I still have a sweet tooth! One of my favorite desserts is a fruit tart because you still feel like you’re kind of eating something healthy. I’ve had some delicious fruit tarts from Whole Foods and Byerly’s, but I wanted to make my own. And let me tell you, I am SO excited to eat this tomorrow…if I can wait that long!

Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures of all of the steps. But if you follow the directions, you can end up with something as beautiful as my finished product 🙂

BeFunky_fruittart.jpg

Ingredients

1 package of sugar cookie dough

Fresh fruit of your choosing, enough to fill your tart

1/2 cup apricot jam

1 tbsp. water

For custard:

2 egg yolks

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup flour

1 cup whole milk (yes, it needs to be whole!)

2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

1. Okay, so I cheated. Instead of making a buttery, flaky crust, I caved and used sugar cookie dough.  If you choose to do the same, roll out your cookie dough ahead of time. I rolled mine out in between two sheets of wax paper, took the top sheet off and then draped it over the tart pan. Do not worry about making it perfect! Bake at 350 degrees until you see the edges of the crust become golden. Let cool for at least 30 minutes.

2. While the crust is baking, go ahead and start making the custard. If you wanted to be really lazy, you could use a vanilla pudding. But I actually wanted to attempt making custard for the first time ever. In a medium bowl, whisk egg yolks, sugar and flour until thick and pale. Heat your milk in a saucepan over medium heat until it is ALMOST boiling. Remove from the heat and slowly pour into the egg mixture, whisking continuously.

3. Return custard to the pot and cook over medium-low heat until the custard has thickened. Be sure to stir to get rid of any lumps. You can make sure it’s thick enough by seeing if it covers the back of a spoon. Once it is thick enough, add in the vanilla and stir well. Then place a piece of plastic wrap over the custard, which prevents a skin from developing. Allow to cool completely.

4. Once crust and custard are cooled, spoon custard into crust and spread evenly. Place your fruit as you wish.

5. Heat the apricot jam and water in a small saucepan until it’s reduced to a liquid consistency. Brush this generously over the fruit to set and seal the tart. Allow to cool completely.

6. INDULGE!

Leave a Reply

